Mom’s Tomato Soup Meatloaf

Standard

Today I’m gonna make a meatloaf lover out of you! If you say you don’t like meatloaf, you’re wrong. If you like hamburger and tomato sauce/soup then you will like this, at least I think so anyways. I am not sure where this meatloaf recipe originated, originally, but for me, this recipe comes from my childhood. This is my mother’s recipe for meatloaf. I’ve never had any other kind, up until I started making Ree Drommund’s meatloaf last year, but they are totally different so I still make both kinds. We love it here, well not Chris, but the boys and I do.

This recipe is easy, inexpensive and only uses ingredients most everyone already has in their pantry and fridge at any given time.

Here is what you need:

In a bowl combine:

1 1/2 lbs of lean ground beef

1 egg

1 tsp mustard

1/2 can condensed cream of tomato soup

1/2 quick cooking oats

salt and pepper

2 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 of a finely chopped onion, or use dehydrated onion flakes, about 1/4 cup

Place in a greased loaf pan. For a topping, in the same bowl now combine: the rest of the tomato soup, 1/2 c water, 2 tbsp. brown sugar and a squirt of mustard. Gently pour over the meat loaf, do not stir or anything, and place in oven carefully. Bake at 350 degrees for one hour and a half to ensure it is cooked all the way through. Here it is from start to finish.

DSC_0180 DSC_0181

DSC_0182 DSC_0183

Serve with potatoes and veg of your choice. A tried and true childhood favorite around here. Easily serves 4-6 people.

A great recipe to serve on a cool fall or winter’s day. Easy and inexpensive!

One response »

  1. I Think I may just have to give this a try! Usually I don’t like the texture of meatloaf but I think the oats may make it better than breadcrumbs. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a comment